Group Owners make decisions on unused groups through email notifications they receive.
They can decide to:
- Keep the group if they think its content is still relevant and will be consulted in the near future.
- Archive the group if they think there is no more need for the group (e.g. the related project is completed). All the files and folders will be archived and will be available to the IT Administrator in case the owners need to retrieve them at a later date.
Note: Archive is only available when you set up an Azure storage to store your data.
- Delete the group if they think there is no more need for it and all the files and folders are no longer needed as well. You can restore a group up to 30 days after it was deleted in Microsoft 365. This action is irreversible after the 30 days.
Email notifications are sent as soon as possible. For instance when a group entrusted by owners is found unused, or when an admin entrusts an unused group to owners.
We email all the owners of a group, however an owner will get only one notification per day even if they are the owner of several unused groups. You can set the name of the email sender in the settings, so the owner will know where the email is coming from, and that it is not spam. We do not email group members or guests.
If an owner does not respond to the first notification email, a reminder is sent after 7 days. You can find unanswered reminders in the dashboard via a tile. You can also filter unanswered reminders in the Groups page, using the Unanswered inactive groups filter.
It is possible to add specific users to a Do Not Disturb List to prevent them from being sent notifications.
To stop notifications from being sent for an entire group, you can deactivate the Entrusted to owners option for the group.
Note: Notifications are not automatically enabled by ShareGate Apricot. You must activate the Entrusted to owners option on the group first.