You receive this notification when you are a group or team owner, and there has been no user activity detected in your team or group within a period of time determined by your IT admin. This means that the group may no longer be relevant for your business.
Your IT admin determines if you receive the notification in an email or in Teams with the ShareGate Apricot Teams bot.
As an owner of the group, you can decide to:
- Keep the team or group if you think its content is still relevant and will be consulted in the near future.
- Archive the team or group if you think there is no more need for it (for example, the related project is completed). All the files and folders will be archived, and will be available to your IT admin in case you need to retrieve them at a later date.
Note: You only get the option to archive the group if your It Admin set up an Azure storage solution for your files and folders.
- Delete the team or group if you think there is no more need for it and all the files and folders are no longer needed. Your IT admin can restore a group up to 30 days after it was deleted in Microsoft 365. This action is irreversible after the 30 days.
From the day you receive the first notification, you will have 14 days to perform the review, and will be notified 7 days from the day you receive the reminder if you have not completed the review of all your teams and groups.
For more information, see Performing an inactivity review.