With ShareGate Apricot you do not have to worry about losing important documents when you decide to clean up your inactive teams and groups.
You can archive all the files and folders of an unused group to an Azure storage when you or an owner decide to remove it through the app.
A team or group can be archived through the inactivity detection policy. With the policy in place, the app will send a notification to the owner of a potentially unused team or group to ask they want to archive, delete, or keep their inactive team or group.
You can also archive manually. To do so, follow these steps:
- Click Manage in the top menu.
- Find the team or group you would like to archive.
- Click on the team or group to open the details.
- Click on the dotted button next to the team or group name.
- Select Archive from the dropdown menu.
Note: The associated site collection and apps are only deleted once your team or group is successfully archived.
You can use the Azure storage solution provided by ShareGate Apricot or your own Azure storage to archive your teams and groups.
For more information about your Azure storage options, see Azure storage options for archiving.
What is archived
- Files and folders in libraries.
- Files and folders that were shared in Teams private channels (if present).
- SharePoint's hierarchy (transformed into folders).
What is not archived
- SharePoint-related metadata.
- SharePoint permissions.
- Content specific to other workloads (Teams, Outlook, etc.).
Access your archive
You can fully restore a team or group within 30 days of its archival. All files and folders can be retrieved at any time. For more information about your archived content, see Accessing archived items.