With ShareGate Apricot you don't have to worry about losing important documents when you want to clean up inactive teams and groups.
Set up an Azure storage account so all the files and folders of unused teams and groups can be archived when you or an owner take action using the app.
Note: The associated site collection and apps are only deleted once your team or group is successfully archived. For information on retention policies, see What is the relationship between Microsoft retention settings and archiving with ShareGate Apricot?
You can use the default Azure storage solution provided by ShareGate Apricot or your own custom Azure storage for your archived content.
For more details, see Azure storage options for archiving.
What is archived
- Files and folders in libraries.
- Files and folders that were shared in Teams private channels (if present).
- Documents sent by the group mailbox (if set to save in the SharePoint library).
- Documents shared on Planner or Yammer.
- List attachments.
- SharePoint's hierarchy (transformed into folders).
Your document version history---including creation and modification dates---is preserved during an archive. The app does not preserve who made the modifications.
What is not archived
- SharePoint-related metadata, including list items and document properties.
- SharePoint permissions.
- Content specific to other workloads (Teams, Outlook, etc.).
Note: ShareGate Apricot stores some file metadata, such as file names and ownership information, in an Azure search service index. This allows you to search through your archived content. The information collected is only accessible through the app.
Use features such as Ask owner and the Inactivity detection policy to collaborate with team and group owners when archiving decisions need to be made, or, archive teams and groups yourself from the Manage page.
To learn more, see Walkthrough - Archiving.
Note: The option to Archive a team or group is only available if you have set up an Azure storage to store your data. If you have not yet set up a storage account, inactive teams and groups can only be kept or deleted.
Select the Archive tab to view all your archived teams and groups. From here you can perform several actions, such as fully restoring a team or group within 30 days of its archival.
For more information on what you can do with archived teams and groups, see Access and manage your archived items.