Set your Inactivity detection policy and your owners can choose to keep, delete, or archive the teams or groups that are no longer active, through your choice of email or Teams chatbot.
Tip: For information on how the notification will look to your owners, see Take action on inactivity.
- Communication method and sender
- No response
- Do not disturb list
- Relationship to archiving
By default, policies and their automated notifications are set to off. You must activate the feature from Settings to enable them. For more information on activation, see Inactivity detection policy.
Notifications are sent as soon as possible. The app sends a notification:
- Automatically - When a team or group has been inactive, according to your default policy.
- Automatically - When a team or group has been inactive, according to the inactivity threshold set for a purpose tag.
- Manually - When you use the bulk action Ask owner(s) feature.
The app notifies all the owners of a team or group; however, an owner will get only one inactivity notification per day even if they are the owner of several unused teams or groups.
Communication method and sender
You can choose your communication method from Settings:
- Select the Settings tab.
- Select the Policies from the menu.
- Scroll to Lifecycle.
- Use the radio buttons to set Microsoft Teams chatbot or Email as your preferred Communications method.
For email notifications, the default email sender is firstname.lastname@example.org. You can Set Email Sender in the general settings, so the owners will know where the email is coming from, and that it is not spam.
We do not email team or group members or guests.
An owner has 14 days total to respond to the notification. If an owner does not respond to the first notification, a reminder is sent after 7 days. For security, there is an expiration of 7 days for inactivity notifications.
If an owner does not answer, the team or group remains inactive until you manually take action, until the next inactivity detection cycle, or until you send a bulk action request. Teams and groups will not be archived or deleted unless that action is explicitly taken.
Do not disturb list
It is possible to add specific users to a Do not disturb list to prevent them from being sent notifications.
Relationship to archiving
From the inactivity detection notification your owners can decide to:
- Keep the team or group if they think its content is still relevant and will be consulted in the near future.
- Archive the team or group if they think there is no longer a need (e.g. the related project is completed). All the files and folders will be archived and will be available to the IT admin in case the owners need to retrieve them at a later date.
Note: Archive is only available when you set up an Azure storage to store your data.
- Delete the team or group if they think there is no more need for the team or group, its files, and its folders. As an IT admin, you can restore a deleted team or group up to 30 days after the owner has made their decision. You can restore the team or group from your Microsoft 365 admin center. This action is irreversible after 30 days.
If an owner opens the team or group after receiving the email or Teams chatbot notification but does not archive it, that team or group will not be flagged as inactive again until the next cycle has passed.
Tip: For information and visibility on how owners take action on inactivity, see Take action on inactivity.