ShareGate Apricot helps you to collaborate with your team and group owners. Set your inactivity detection policy and your owners can choose to keep, delete, or archive their teams or groups that are no longer active, through your choice of email or Teams chatbot.
Tip: For information on how the notification will look to your owners, see Taking action on inactivity.
- No response
- Do not disturb list
- Relationship to archiving
Notifications are not automatically enabled by ShareGate Apricot. You must activate the feature in the settings to enable them.
Owners must be entrusted for this policy to take effect. Notifications are only sent to entrusted owners.
Notifications are sent as soon as possible. The inactivity threshold triggers the app to send a notification:
- When an entrusted team or group is found unused, according to your default policy.
- When an entrusted team or group is found unused, according to the inactivity threshold set for a purpose tag.
- When an admin entrusts an unused team or group to an owner.
The app notifies all the owners of a team or group; however, an owner will get only one inactivity notification per day even if they are the owner of several unused teams or groups.
You can set your preferred communication method between Microsoft Teams chatbot and email from Settings:
- Select Settings in the menu.
- Select the Policies tab.
- Under Lifecycle, set your preferred communication method for Inactivity detection.
For email notifications, you can set the email sender in the general settings, so the owners will know where the email is coming from, and that it is not spam.
We do not email team or group members or guests.
In the case that an owner does not answer, the team or group will remain in your environment until the next scheduled policy. A team or group will not be archived or deleted unless that action is explicitly taken.
An owner has 14 days total to respond to the notification. If an owner does not respond to the first notification, a reminder is sent after 7 days. For security, there is an expiration of 7 days for inactivity notifications.
Do not disturb list
It is possible to add specific users to a Do not disturb list to prevent them from being sent notifications.
To stop notifications from being sent to an entire team or group, you can deactivate the Entrusted to owners option.
Relationship to archiving
From the inactivity detection notification your entrusted owners can decide to:
- Keep the team or group if they think its content is still relevant and will be consulted in the near future.
- Archive the team or group if they think there is no longer a need (e.g. the related project is completed). All the files and folders will be archived and will be available to the IT Administrator in case the owners need to retrieve them at a later date.
Note: Archive is only available when you set up an Azure storage to store your data.
- Delete the team or group if they think there is no more need for the team or group, its files, and its folders. As an admin, you can restore a deleted team or group up to 30 days after the owner has made their decision. You can restore the team or group from your Microsoft 365 admin center. This action is irreversible after 30 days.
If an owner opens the team or group after receiving the email or chatbot notification but does not archive it, it will not be flagged as inactive again until the next unused site policy cycle has passed.
Tip: For information and visibility on how owners take action on inactivity, see Taking action on inactivity.