Decide how long a team or group can be inactive in your environment. Then, set up your default Inactivity detection policy so ShareGate Apricot can automatically notify your team and group owners to take action when needed.
Tip: For information and visibility on how owners take action on inactivity, see Take action on inactivity.
The app will automatically send an email or Teams chatbot notification to owners inviting them to take action when their teams and groups become inactive. From the notification your owners can decide to:
- Keep the team or group if they think its content is still relevant and will be consulted in the near future.
- Delete the team or group if they think there is no more need for the team or group, its files, and its folders. As an IT admin, you can restore a deleted team or group up to 30 days after the owner has made their decision. You can restore the team or group from your Microsoft 365 admin center. This action is irreversible after 30 days.
- Archive the team or group if they think there is no longer a need (e.g. the related project is completed). All the files and folders will be archived and will be available to the IT admin in case the owners need to retrieve them at a later date.
If an owner opens the team or group after receiving the email or Teams chatbot notification but does not archive it, that team or group will not be flagged as inactive again until the next cycle has passed.